EWL News

EU High Representative/Vice President Catherine Ashton selects another five male new Heads of EU Delegations

[Brussels, 02 December 2011] The EWL is disappointed at the annoucement today of another all male selection for new Heads of EU Delegations worldwide. This further skews the gender balance in high-level decision-making within the EU institutions and goes against the commitments of UN Security Council Resolutions on Women, Peace and Security. The EWL has been pressing for a higher representation of women in the EU External Action Service, headed by Ms. Ashton. In August 2011, the EWL reported the rise of the number of women EU ambassadors to 31 following the appointment of 8 new female heads of delegation (out of a total of 25 nominations). For more information on the new appointments, read the European Commission Press Release below.

[European Commission, Brussels, 02 December 2011] Catherine Ashton, EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice President of the Commission, today announced her intention to appoint five new Heads of European Union Delegations around the world. Once accreditation procedures have been completed, Marchel Gerrmann will become Head of Delegation in Eritrea, James Moran in Egypt, Norbert Jousten in Uzbekistan, Richard Zink in Mali and Sven Kuehn von Burgsdorff in South Sudan.

Catherine Ashton said: "I am delighted to appoint these excellent candidates to such important posts in the External Action Service. Their experience and expertise will be vital as we continue to build the service. Once again, I have been very impressed by the quality of the candidates who put themselves forward. The opportunity to represent the EU in the world clearly continues to attract the brightest and best diplomats."

Marchel Gerrmann is currently Acting Dutch Ambassador to Zimbabwe, and has broad diplomatic experience, specialising particularly in overseas development.

James Moran is currently acting head of the EU’s new Delegation in Libya. He was previously Director for the Asia and Pacific region in the EEAS and has also been head of the European Commission Delegations in Jordan and Jamaica.

Norbert Jousten is currently Head of the EU Delegation to Kazakhstan, and has worked for many years in the external relations field for the European Union.

Richard Zink is currently Head of the EU Delegation in the Democratic Republic of Congo, and has long experience in EU delegations in Africa and with the European Agency for Reconstruction.

Sven Kuehn von Burgsdorff is currently an Adviser in the Commission’s Directorate-General for Development and Cooperation. He has long experience of development work within the EU institutions.

Latest video

EWL event "Progress towards a Europe free from all forms of male violence" to mark the 10th aniversary of the Istanbul Convention, 12 May 2021.

Facebook Feed

Get Involved