2009 EP Elections


[Brussels, 18 November 2009] The European Women’s Lobby will today join a delegation of female MEPs led by Vice-President Diana Wallis in marching from the European Parliament to the Council of the European Union to protest against the lack of women candidates being mentioned in the "behind closed door" proceedings for the so-called “EU Top Jobs”. The marchers will wear shirts and ties, and will walk together to the Council in order to symbolically "deliver" their CVs before nominations for Commissioners are formalised by Member States at the Summit tomorrow, and the candidates for new President and foreign policy chief are decided.

Confirmed MEP participants include Rebecca Harms, Co-president of the Greens /EFA Group , Eva Britt Svensson, (GUE/NGL), Chairwoman of the Committee on Women’s Rights and Gender Equality, Anneli Jäätteenmäki, Vice President of the ALDE Group (and former PM of Finland), Corinne Lepage (ALDE), VP of ENVI committee, Britta Thomsen (S&D) and Marije Cornelissen (Greens/ALE).

Latest video

EWL event "Progress towards a Europe free from all forms of male violence" to mark the 10th aniversary of the Istanbul Convention, 12 May 2021.

Facebook Feed

Get Involved